ARLA FOOD TO GO VS COMFOO
Arla in a bottle or ComFoo in a shaker?
Ready to drink or mix when you want.
Food To Go and ComFoo address different situations. See what the format means for contents, preparation and cost.
Bottle or bag?
Prepared bottle or a bag at home?
Arla Protein Food To Go is a prepared drink. ComFoo is powder mixed with water. The biggest difference is therefore what you need to do before drinking – and what you want to carry. Here we compare Arla's Chocolate/caramel with ComFoo's two Chocolate recipes.
You are reading ComFoo's own comparison. The article was updated on 30 September 2026. Dated product and price data appears beside the tables and sources. We distinguish declared facts from our advice on how to compare.
How much do you want to prepare?
A bottle may suit when going somewhere and avoiding measuring powder or finding a shaker. Powder may suit when keeping several servings at home or work and mixing when needed. Consider where the meal needs to work before comparing price.
Arla's bottle holds 500 ml and is marketed with 30 g protein per bottle. ComFoo Original Chocolate gives 21.8 g protein per serving; Sport Chocolate gives 29.3 g. Similar protein figures do not make the drinks identical. Liquid quantity, recipe and preparation also matter.
Arla's energy declaration is per 100 g drink, while bottle size is in millilitres. We do not treat these units as interchangeable. The table therefore preserves Arla's energy value on the manufacturer's stated basis.
Arla bottle versus ComFoo powder: different formats and energy units.
See formats and servings side by side. Then enter the price in the shop where you buy Arla.
| Comparison | ComFoo Original – Chocolate | Protein Food To Go Chocolate/caramel |
|---|---|---|
| Format | Powder + water | Ready to drink |
| Serving | 100 g powder | 500 ml prepared drink |
| Declared energy and unit | 400 kcal / 100 g powder | 78 kcal / 100 g drink¹ |
| Protein | 21.8 g | 30 g / bottle |
| Package | 20 servings | 1 bottle · 500 ml |
¹ Arla states energy per 100 g and bottle volume in ml. We therefore do not convert to energy per bottle. Other energy values refer to one serving. ComFoo's product information · Arla: source
Ingredients, labelling and preparation for the selected products
| To check | ComFoo Original – Chocolate | Arla Protein Food To Go Chocolate/caramel |
|---|---|---|
| Recipe base | Oat flour, maltodextrin from maize, pea protein, rapeseed oil and cocoa. | Milk (90%), milk protein, maize fibre, isomaltulose, cocoa and sunflower oil. |
| Sweetening | Sucralose. | No added sweeteners according to Arla. Isomaltulose is included; this does not state that it is sugar-free. |
| Allergen and trace information | Oats. Original should not be chosen as ComFoo's gluten-free option. | Contains milk. Lactose-free does not mean milk-free. |
| Preparation | Water, weighed powder and a clean container. Follow your bag's mixing instructions. | Prepared drink; Arla recommends shaking and serving chilled. |
| Storage | Distinguish dry powder from a prepared drink. Follow the bag's labelling. | Unopened: maximum 25 °C. Opened: maximum +8 °C, 2–3 days according to Arla. The date stamp applies to an unopened bottle. |
ComFoo: catalogue data from 22 September 2026. Competitor web data read on 30 September 2026. Complete ComFoo labelling · Complete labelling from Arla. Check recipe version, allergens and trace labelling on the packaging you buy.
| Comparison | ComFoo Sport – Chocolate | Protein Food To Go Chocolate/caramel |
|---|---|---|
| Format | Powder + water | Ready to drink |
| Serving | 100 g powder | 500 ml prepared drink |
| Declared energy and unit | 400 kcal / 100 g powder | 78 kcal / 100 g drink¹ |
| Protein | 29.3 g | 30 g / bottle |
| Package | 16 servings | 1 bottle · 500 ml |
¹ Arla states energy per 100 g and bottle volume in ml. We therefore do not convert to energy per bottle. Other energy values refer to one serving. ComFoo's product information · Arla: source
Ingredients, labelling and preparation for the selected products
| To check | ComFoo Sport – Chocolate | Arla Protein Food To Go Chocolate/caramel |
|---|---|---|
| Recipe base | Gluten-free oat flour, pea protein isolate, oat protein, fava bean flour, rapeseed oil and cocoa. | Milk (90%), milk protein, maize fibre, isomaltulose, cocoa and sunflower oil. |
| Sweetening | Sucralose. | No added sweeteners according to Arla. Isomaltulose is included; this does not state that it is sugar-free. |
| Allergen and trace information | Oats. Sport is marketed as gluten-free; read the complete labelling for your Chocolate bag. | Contains milk. Lactose-free does not mean milk-free. |
| Preparation | Water, weighed powder and a clean container. Follow your bag's mixing instructions. | Prepared drink; Arla recommends shaking and serving chilled. |
| Storage | Distinguish dry powder from a prepared drink. Follow the bag's labelling. | Unopened: maximum 25 °C. Opened: maximum +8 °C, 2–3 days according to Arla. The date stamp applies to an unopened bottle. |
ComFoo: catalogue data from 22 September 2026. Competitor web data read on 30 September 2026. Complete ComFoo labelling · Complete labelling from Arla. Check recipe version, allergens and trace labelling on the packaging you buy.
Explore ComFoo's flavours
Choose a bag to see contents and order from the range.
ComFoo Original
How the price is calculated
Serving price before shipping = package price / number of declared servings. Order total = price per whole package × number of packages + shipping. Monthly consumption = occasions per week × 52 / 12 × serving price. Whole monthly purchases are rounded up from empty stock and shown separately.
Fictional multipack: SEK 120 / 4 bottles = SEK 30 per 500 ml bottle. Five occasions per week gives SEK 650 in average monthly consumption. From empty stock, six whole four-packs are needed: SEK 720 before shipping. This compares format and cost; nutritional contents are not assumed equal.
Milk-based or plant-based?
Arla Protein Food To Go is milk-based and lactose-free. Lactose-free does not mean milk-free: it still contains milk. This distinction matters when choosing by ingredients, however similar a prepared shake looks to a mixed powder drink.
ComFoo is plant-based. Original Chocolate contains oat flour, maltodextrin from maize, pea protein and rapeseed oil, among other ingredients. Original contains gluten. Sport has its own recipe with gluten-free oats. Read complete information for your chosen flavour if avoiding an ingredient.
Protein content cannot determine which option you will prefer. A prepared drink already has its texture. With powder, preparation affects the experience. Follow the bag's instructions on the first try for a fair impression of the product.
Two different ways to make it easy.
The bottle when going out
You bring a prepared serving. Arla states maximum 25 °C before opening. An opened bottle is stored at maximum +8 °C and lasts 2–3 days according to Arla; also read your bottle's labelling. The date stamp applies to an unopened bottle. No separate scoop or mixing at your location is needed.
The bag already at the location
You have several servings together and mix when needed. Make sure water, scoop and shaker are where the meal will be used, and account for washing the shaker.
A question often clarifying the choice is: what usually makes my plan fail? If you forget preparation, a ready bottle may suit that occasion. If you lack something at home when time is short, a bag in the cupboard may solve another problem. You can use different formats on different occasions.
Calculate using your shop price.
Arla is sold through retailers, so we invent no shared bottle price. Use your shop's price and compare one bottle's cost with a declared ComFoo serving's cost.
This compares cost per use, not identical nutritional contents. For a multipack, divide total price by bottle count to get unit price. Also check how many need buying to get the offer.
Also calculate how often you will actually use the product. Five planned occasions per week means a different purchase from occasional backup meals. Distinguish average consumption cost from buying whole bags or bottles.
Common questions.
Is lactose-free Food To Go milk-free?
No. Arla Protein Food To Go is milk-based even though lactose-free.
Why do you not calculate Arla's calories per bottle?
The manufacturer states energy per 100 g and volume in ml. We avoid assuming bottle volume equals the same weight.
What is easiest to carry?
A prepared bottle needs no mixing. Powder needs water and a shaker but several servings can be kept where you usually use it.
The next step in your choice
- What are the most common products for nutritious meal replacements? – Compare prepared drinks with powder and other formats.
- Why ComFoo beats eating lunch out – How the format works for work lunch.
- How to use ComFoo – guide, tips & recipes – Preparation, water and shaker for ComFoo.
- ComFoo Original vs Sport vs Krismat – differences and comparison – Choose the right ComFoo recipe.
Sources and scope.
ComFoo: local catalogue data from 22 September 2026. Competitor primary web data read on 30 September 2026. Information refers to the named products. Recipes, prices and offers may change. Read packaging and the shop's current terms before buying.
- Arla: Protein Food To Go Chocolate/caramel 500 ml
- ComFoo Original Chocolate: contents and product information
- ComFoo Sport Chocolate: contents and product information
Taste, fullness and texture have not been assessed in a comparative product test. The article therefore does not rank personal experiences.
Powder when you want
A bag ready when you are.
Want several servings together in one place? See ComFoo's Original flavours and decide when to mix.
See ComFoo Original →

Chocolate
Raspberry
Blueberry
Chocolate
Vanilla
Unflavoured
Apple Pie & Vanilla